The Hon. Dr Sharman Stone

Member for Murray (Vic.)

LIB, 1996–2016

The Hon. Dr Sharman Stone.

Image courtesy of Auspic.

Sharman Stone was first elected to the House of Representatives as the Liberal Party member for Murray in 1996. Prior to entering parliament Stone completed a Bachelor of Arts with honours, a Diploma of Tertiary Education, a Master of Arts in economics and business and a PhD in sociology. She also worked for various state public service agencies, the Victorian Farmers Federation and the University of Melbourne.

Throughout her parliamentary career Stone pursued a wide range of social, rural and regional issues such as refugee settlement, health, infrastructure and water resources. Stone was a vocal advocate for the farming communities and agribusinesses operating within her electorate and she was prominent in efforts to keep the Shepparton Preserving Co. (SPC) open in 2014.

During her second term Stone was appointed Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for the Environment and Heritage (1998-2004) and in later terms served as Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Finance and Administration (2004-2006) and Minister for Workforce Participation (2006-2007).

A well-regarded authority on Indigenous issues, Stone served on the Council for Aboriginal Reconciliation (1997-2000) and as chair of the House of Representatives Committee on Indigenous Affairs.

After completing 20 years in parliament, Stone retired in 2016.